1.7 Newest Bundle

Cole looked at Claire with wide eyes and an open jaw. She repeated once more, barely over a whisper, “I’m pregnant, Cole.”

He started shaking his head, stumbling out words, “But…That’s just… It can’t be… I mean… How can…”

Claire could feel her throat tighten and tears started to form in her eyes. Reflexively, she turned and started to run towards the house. She sat on the wooden floors, her head lying on her knees and tears flowing out endlessly. It seemed like it was hours, but only two minutes later, Cole made his way into the house. “Claire,” He said gently, slowly picking her up off the floor.

“Please, stop crying. This is great news, really.” Cole said with a soft reassuring voice.

“Stop lying to me! You, you don’t want this.”

“No, that’s not true. I wasn’t expecting it, and I just wasn’t prepared. That doesn’t mean I won’t support you.”

“Really?” Claire asked, wiping the tears off her soft cheeks.

“I promise.”

~~~

Claire was slowly starting to see this pregnancy as her new purpose in life. She and Cole hadn’t spoken about their personal relationship. They hugged and cuddle. Cole rubbed her belly and gave her long, soothing massages, however, they never made love again, and neither had they kissed.

Filled with joy and excitement, Claire had invited her two dearest and closest friends to a warm fire to tell them the news. The night was cool, as the group of friends gathered around the warmth of the fires. The told stories, laughed, and roasted marshmallows.

Claire took a moment and brought Rosy in the house, leaving the two men to talk outside. Taking a deep breath, Claire announced her pregnancy. Rosy was ecstatic when she heard the news. “I cannot believe this is happening! I’m so happy for y’all! You thinking it’s a little boy or a girl?”

“Rosy, please, stop yelling!” Claire said, laughing with her dear friend. “I don’t know of that yet. We want it to be a surprise.”

“You know, I still can’t believe this. I mean, with Cole? How did that happen!?”

“I’d rather not get into the details!” The two girls began laughing.

“No silly! I mean, honey, he’s got himself one odd background.”

“What do you mean?” Claire said, the laughing now stopping.

“Oh no no, don’t mind me! Just remember this is great news and-“ Rosy was cut off when Claire told her seriously, “Rosy, what is it that you’re hiding from me.”

“It’s nothing too big. You know how small towns have nothing to do but gossip, so word goes around fast.”

“What’s the gossip?” Claire was now asking intrigued.

“Story changes every time. Some people say he was abandoned as a child and living in the streets for ages. Others say he did time in prison for who knows what reason. I’ve even heard a couple say he’s fathered a baby once before. Personally I don’t believe in any of those things.”

“It’s only bad news.” Claire concluded; worry starting to form in the pit of her stomach.

~~~

Later towards the end of the night, Chuck was the one to hear about the great news. He wore the broadest smile Claire had ever seen. He was talking loudly and hugging her over and over again. “Well, shut my mouth! Claire! You have no idea how exciting this is.”

The two talked, and Claire started to feel a bond being formed between her and Chuck. A fatherly bond she had never felt before. Someone she knew would keep her safe, someone she can go talk to whenever she had a problem. Someone who cared for her, and would treat her right.

~~~

As six months of the pregnancy had passed, Claire had moved all her belongings to the ranch. She lived with Cole; they ate at the same table, used the same bathroom, and slept in the same bed. Still, never making love.

~~~

Her stomach becoming bigger and heavier to carry around, Claire heavily sat on the wooden chair facing the old computer. She powered the device to life and logged onto her email.

As the screen showed her inbox, she saw only three new messages. All of them going by the email of JohnMiddleton@simail.com . Her eyes widened, she held her breath, her heart skipping a beat. Her father. She had completely forgotten about her parents. It had been nearly a year she was away from home, and never once did she come in contact with her past life. The very first email was sent six months ago and read:

Claire darling! Your mother and I hope you like your newest establishment. Please email us soon!

The second email was sent four months ago and Claire read:

Claire darling! Your mother and I haven’t heard a single word from you! If you’d like, we would be delighted to visit you at school. Please email us soon!

She could almost hear her fathers’ voice as she read the words. No matter how hard she tried to block it out, or how far she ran away, she’d never forget her parents’ cold, icy voice.

The last email was sent only a week ago and Claire opened it anxiously.

Claire darling! Your mother and I are beginning to grow anxious! You have not responded to a single one of our writings! We have planned to come to your school within the next month. Please email us soon!

Claire grew more tense as she stared at the screen. Quickly, her fingers started typing at the keyboard as she thought of a plan.

Father, mother! I apologize for not responding to you sooner. Although you must understand the chaotic study life I have been living. The school is great and there is no need to visit. I shall come home for the holidays.

It wasn’t full proof, but at least it would get her parents on hold. Still, she decided to keep the subject to herself and avoided telling Cole.

~~~

With the baby so close to being born, Claire thought it was an appropriate moment to speak to Cole about their relationship.

“Cole, we can’t keep living like this. I… I don’t know where we’re at in our relationship.” With time, Claire had slowly began to lose her lavish vocabulary, but still she spoke with her native British accent.

“I don’t know what you mean,” Cole had responded, trying to avoid the topic.

“We’re having a baby for crying out loud! Do you… do you even want this?”

“Of course I do! Claire after everything I’ve sacrificed for you, I can’t believe you’re even asking me that.”

“Sacrifice? What sacrifice? You can barely even look me in the eye, let alone touch me.” 

“So that’s what this is about? Just because I don’t show you the type of affection you want, it doesn’t mean I’m not caring. Claire I’ve given up on half my clients, just so I can stay at home and help you. The ranch business is going down, and we’re going into depths! I had to take on a second job as a butcher, just so I can try to give you the best! For you, and for this baby. I’m not like you Claire, I don’t come from a rich family, and I don’t wear expensive clothes or eat pricey foods. I can’t offer you half of what you deserve.”

Angry, Cole got up and went outside. It took a few minutes of reflection for Claire to realize how hard Cole was trying. He did everything he possibly could, just to make her happy. Yet she never realized it nor thanked him for his hard work. Ashamed she made her way outside to join Cole on the back porch.

“Cole, I’m so, so sorry. I had no idea about any of this. You should have told me about the money problems.”

“Why? So you can realize how poor I am and decide I’m not worth it, and just leave?”

“No, but because we’re a family now.”

As the words escaped Claire’s mouth, Cole leaned in and gave her a long, hard kiss. It had been months since neither had even came in contact with each other, and the feel of his strength made Claire feel safe and protected.

~~~

Claire was preparing fresh lemonade to bring out to Cole; who was working hard under the heat of the sun’s strength. She began walking out, holding the drinks when suddenly the platter fell, making the ice spread across the wooden floors. Screaming out in agony, Claire’s lower back and abdomen began to ache in pain.

She took deep, loud breaths and slowly made her way to the ranch. Cole saw her agonized expression and reflexively took her arm, helping her stand straight. Helping her into the car, he sped through the dirt paths and directed himself straight to the hospital.

The pregnancy went smoothly and without any complications; allowing a new mother and father to carry out their very first baby girl. A delicate and fragile structure, Claire carried her newborn all the way back home. It was Cole who chose the name of Brooklyn symbolizing power, the name carrying the meaning of being a leader.

~~~

AUTHOR’S NOTES

– Finally a new update! I know it’s been a while, but the past few days have been chaotic for me, and I think it will only be getting worse. Being in Senior year means a lot of dedication to school work, plus I only just started my new job. I also have lots of hockey and recently just started taking my drivers licence. My goal though is to have at least one update every week or two weeks. Of course all in the same time as keeping up to date with all your stories!

– I have to say I think this is my longest chapter so far! It took me so long to play out, but I was so excited to see the newborn! Everyone, this is Brooklyn Middleton, the very first newborn child of this legacy!

– Quick moment to thank you for reading and commenting all along in my previous chapters, I hope you stick with me! I’ve hit the 3,000 views and this is only the beginning!

– Also thought I’d add a few of these pictures that I took during game play! Enjoy 🙂

And a little family collage I decided to do. I think Cole is one extremely good-looking sim, and Claire isn’t so bad herself! And then there’s little baby Brooklyn, who personally I think looks more like her father! Though I have no idea where she got those brown eyes…

1777 words

35 comments

  1. I loved this CHAPTER! At first when Claire and Cole’s relationship started to go downhill I was like NOOO! And then when Rosy told Claire about those rumors I was just like oh my gosh! But Claire will have to find out one way or another about Cole’s past. Great Chapter like always! And baby Brooklyn !! <3333

    1. Thank you soooooo much! :’)
      Cole definitely has a background that Claire needs to dig into, but on the other hand, Cole also has no idea about Claire’s past! Those two need to get talking and start sharing more about their lives.

      1. oh they sure do! I hope her parents don’t go searching for her at that college cause then little Ms. Claire will have to explain to her parents that she lied and that they are grandparents. :O

  2. Alright. i am on my phone, so i will prolly make this short cuz i hate using my phone to comment. But im doing it anyways!

    Brooklyn is super adorable. And that was a really close call with her parents. All of the secrets remind me of Conrad and Odine in my Lee legacy. So many secrets!

    More soon. 😉

    1. What’s a legacy without secrets ? 😉

  3. Oooh, Cole’s dark and mysterious past is going to throw quite the curveball into things! Baby Brooks is too cute. (: I love her brown eyes! They’re from some mysterious genetic source, alright.

    1. She’s so adorable, I have to agree! And she even has a few light freckles! I can’t wait to reveal more about Cole’s past! And also more about Claire’s.

  4. Hey there,
    I immediately came over to check out your legacy after you commented on mine. And I liked it from the start! It was fun to read that Claire was born on March 18th,which is the birthday of a very good friend of mine, but then it immediately got sad. Your way of describing what Claire had to experience when she was still a little girl almost brought tears to my eyes. I’m not kidding. Your pictures emphasized the sadness perfectly.
    As soon as Claire had moved to Appaloosa Plains (a town I love yet repeatedly misspell 😉 ), her new life had started. Your writing sounded more hopeful and bright, as if she truly had managed to let go what had been hurting her before.
    Now that Brooklyn is born (a great name for a girl! I have never heard that before, only in geographical context), I am excited to see how Claire and Cole are going to deal with their situation. Marriage, maybe? And/or another child? Can’t wait for your next chapter and will definitely keep checking your page for updates! 🙂

    1. I always love having new readers! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment.
      The date March 18 was a complete coincidence, I just picked it at random haha!
      I try as best I can to relate the pictures to my text, but it gets harder and harder depending on the situation.
      I’m also excited to now play the game with Brooklyn (aka Brooke)
      I’ll definitely be keeping in touch and keeping up to date with your blog! Thanks again for your kind words 😀

  5. I still think Cole is a nice guy, but it sounds like he definitely has a dark past … and it looks like Claires past is going to catch up with her sooner or later. On the bright side, little Brooklyn is adorable 🙂

  6. Ahhh, this is soooo cute ❤ I love it. Brooklyn is such a cutie. I've heard the random eye colour is sometimes generated as a proxy to 'grandparent genes'. Definitely intrigued about Cole's past – is he more of a bad boy that he let's on? Hope you're not too stressed out with school x

    1. I think Brooklyn got her eye color from her grandmother then! Though I still have no explanation for the freckles.

      Thank you for your concern! So far so good, just have a busy and tight schedule 🙂

  7. I hope the rumours about Cole are not true. Claire will be devastated if she learns Cole is hiding some dirty little secret, especially now that they have a daughter together. That said, I still think Claire and Cole are a perfect match and can’t wait to see where you take their relationship. I do hope they get married and have more children. Claire deserves that perfect, happy family since she grew up in such a cold environment. I knew her parents would eventually guess that something fishy was going on, but I think Claire handled the situation well!

    Brooklyn is very cute, and I can’t wait to see how she grows up! 😀

  8. Still loving this! Like you, I’m super busy these days–but your chapters (and the captions themselves) are just the perfect length so that they keep me entertained but don’t take forever to read. So excited to see generation two getting started! Brooklyn is adorable. Although the brown eyes are concerning — I know the Sims has some wacky genetic laws, but in real life if your parents both have blue eyes and you have brown eyes… well, it basically means they’re not your parents. 😉

    Can’t wait for the next chapter!!

    1. LOL! No no, those are Brooklyn’s parents alright!
      I try to make my chapters short enough not to bore people, but I still want to have some story line going on. I’m glad you’re enjoying it and I can balance it all! 🙂

  9. Hey, Brooklyn has brown eyes, and both parents have blue ones. Was that a mutation, or do either Claire or Cole’s folks have brown eyes? Just curious. I love sim genetics.

    I’m very curious to know more about Cole’s past, and I’m glad to see that Claire has found a better man this time.

    1. I was curious about her eyes too, but now that I think of it, Claire’s mother has brown eyes. Thanks for reading and commenting ! 🙂

      1. Ah! So it wasn’t a mutation!

        Outside of building the story itself, I think one of the most fun things about Sims is the genetics. At first, I only noticed hair, eye, and skin color, but after a while I started noticing shape of the nose and cheekbones and eye shape. It’s a lot of fun to trace back through the family lines as the legacy gets more generations.

      2. I know, I love it too! It’s always fun to have a newborn. The surprise on how they look and how they’ll act is just as exciting every time.

  10. Oh my goodness she is ADORABLE! ❤ such a cutie!
    I'm so happy things are looking up for Cole and Claire.. well, not finalcially, but at least their relationship didn't turn cold.
    Awww, Brooklyn's freckles! Adorbs! ^^
    I wonder what's really up with Cole's past.. we barely know anything about him, other than that he has a ranch and works incredibly hard…

    1. I love the way you pay attention to the details. Indeed, though they’re a cute family, they’re still in crazy depths. Cole’s past is still a mystery for now, but soon will be revealed! 🙂

  11. Could you upload rosy to the exchange?

    1. I’ll definitely try and upload her sometime this weekend if I find the time! 🙂 Thanks

      1. Okay thanks!

  12. I missed the last few chapters but am all caught up now! I don’t think you need to rush Claire’s story, I find it easier to read if there is time to get to really know the characters and so far your story don’t feel the slightest boring or lengthy. Someone already said, but her story moves forward in each chapter as it is. 🙂

    Congratulations on both 2 and 3k hits. Closing in to 4 as well. Wohoo.

    I’m scared that Claire might have rushed the relation with Cole a bit and that it will get back to her eventually. Brooklyn is a real cutie-pie. Can’t wait to see her age.

    1. Thanks so much for all your kind words! Claire and Cole definitely had to fast-forward their relationship, but having Brooklyn around doesn’t give them much of a choice. It should be fun and entertaining though, with a new relationship, a little toddler, and a bunch of different animals on the farm! That’s one huge, extended family 😀

      1. It’s gonna be hard work keeping everyone happy!! How many animals do you have and what sort?

      2. Right now I have 2 horses, 3 dogs, and I have at least one tank for each other type of animal. (Turtle, snake, rodent, bird, etc.) It’s definitely keeping me busy!

      3. Wow that is alot!! It must be fun sometimes though!

  13. Wonderful story so far Cindy, it’s been a great read and I can’t wait to see where you take it. Although, it did seem you rushed to start generation 2. I do hope that if there are things you want to write about you do take the time to explore them and not forgo writing them all together just to help push the story along. Having all those little side moment really help add depth to the characters.

    That being said, keep up the great work and I can’t wait to read the next chapter.

    1. I definitely wanted to get the second generation started, but don’t worry I’ll still be writing in detail about Claire’s life. It’s just instead of it only being about her, there will be a couple stories with her future kid(s) ! 🙂 Thanks so much for reading

  14. Aww Brooklyn is such and adorable baby girl. I can’t believe I missed this chapter. I only got an update for 1.8 this morning when I saw my emails! I’ll be sure to check them more often.

    I hope her parents don’t visit her because I think they might want her to leave cole and her daughter.

    1. No need to apologize, it happens to all of us at some point 🙂 Happy you like Brooklyn, she’s so precious. As for Claire’s parents… they’re a little less precious lol.

  15. All in favor of more shirtless pictures of Cole?? 😀

  16. I was so scared that something was going to happen to Claire and Coles relationship. From the lack of romance between them and then the rumors of his background to Claire demanding attention…I thought that it would break! But I breathed a sigh of relief when I read that Cole is trying hard, and that he is just so busy trying to give Claire and their unborn baby a decent life and take care of his ranch and clients who rely on him as a vet. He is under alot of stress….poor Cole. I am glad that Claire saw that and what he is doing. I was also concerned about her parents…I really think that she should come clean and be honest with Cole about her parents…when she tells him, he will probably confide in her about his own past and all the speculations and rumors she has heard can be put to rest. Either way, even if he doesnt want to open up, she should still tell him. What if her parents find her and take her and the baby away? They are extremely rich, and I am sure that they could do it.
    On another note, welcome Brooklyn!! She is adorable!! Congratulations to Claire and Cole on their new baby girl!

Leave a Reply

