1.5 Don’t Judge Me

Dating Trevor had given Claire a feeling of her past life. She slept most nights at Trevor’s condominium an hour outside of town. He wasn’t rich, but he definitely wasn’t poor. She was able to eat proper meals at proper restaurants and at least have a roof over her head.

Though, she had refused to move in with him; she simply wasn’t ready for such a big step. Instead, she still lived in Appaloosa Plains, in her roofless place she called home.

Taking Rosy’s advice, she decided to apply for a job at an old ranch a few miles from the village.

Arriving at the ranch, she stepped out of the taxi and walked her polished shoes into the brown dirt and mud.

The ranch was a falling disaster, but in the same time it had its beauty. The windows were broken, and the roof had several patches. There were knocked over barrels and rusting tractors along the side of the building. At first glance, someone would think it was abandoned. However, it’s large field, and strong green trees made the place seem alive.

A large dog came speeding in her direction and began barking towards her, it’s large white canines showing. Frightened she backed away. She was relieved when she heard a loud, piercing whistle, making the dog back away off Claire.

“Sorry about that, Chanel thinks she’s tough, but she really isn’t.” The man said pointing to the large collie. He was tall and broad-shouldered; his shirt tight against his muscular torso. “Can I help you?” he asked.

Claire tried to speak, but words would not come out. She simply stood there, looking at the man who could have well been a model if he would simply clean himself up.

“Um…Can I help you?” he repeated once more.

“Yes, pardon me. I’m here…to work?” Claire barely stuttered out.

“You? Work here? I don’t think so.” The man turned on his heel and started walking the opposite direction when Claire finally got her voice back.

“Excuse me but sir, why can I not work here? If I heard correctly, you’re in need in help around this place. And just by the looks of it, I heard well.”

“Listen lady, I don’t want to be rude, but you have absolutely no right to come barging onto my property and telling my place off like that. Besides, just look at yourself, you probably can’t even walk and chew gum at the same time.”

Who does he think he is? Just because I’m a woman with class, he insists I can’t do the same thing he does? Clearly, he is not doing much hard work around here, or else it wouldn’t look like such an chaotic mess! Okay Claire, let’s show him what real woman are capable of doing.

 Taking a deep breath, Claire politely said, “I’m Claire Middleton. You’re right, I have absolutely no right to judge your property in such a way, however you don’t have a right to judge me the way you just did. I’m a hard-working woman and I’m ready to take on whatever tasks, just to prove you wrong.”

With a broad smile that showed perfectly white straightened teeth, he said, “The name is Cole. You’re starting next week.”

~~~

“Chuck! Chuck she got the job!” Rosy was yelling into her cell phone. As soon as Claire had arrived to her house, Rosy was already calling people to tell them the good news. No wonder they say news travels fast in small towns. 

~~~

The atmosphere was different however when it came to telling Trevor the good news.

“I don’t want you working there!?” was his first, initial reaction.

“May I ask why not?” Claire responded, insulted.

“You have everything you need right here. Besides a woman like you shouldn’t be working with bums like him.”

“You don’t even know him? And I’m exasperated with people always judging me by the way I present myself! Just because I have a British accent and nice clothing, it doesn’t mean I cannot do things myself.”

“Really? Because last time I checked you couldn’t even prepare yourself your own meal.”

That did it. I could no longer be treated in such a way. The reason why I had left my previous life was to avoid situations like these. I left because I wanted to live my own life and make my own decisions. I had escaped my parents’ coldness and swore to myself I was to live a different life compared to what they had raised me in. Trevor was an exact image of what I wanted to escape. I had escaped it once, and nothing was going to stop me from escaping it twice. 

The relationship Claire and Trevor had worked on month after month had now ended. Claire brought back all her belongings onto her small lot on the dirt road of Appaloosa Plains.

~~~

It was her first day at work, and Claire was ready to prove Cole wrong. Chuck had been nice enough to drive her all the way outside town, and wished her good luck as he dropped her off at the ranch.

“And so you actually show up huh?” Cole teased as he greeted Claire.

“And I’m precisely on time too!”

Cole gave Claire an overall look from head to toe and said, “I hope you have a change of clothes?” It was the first time Claire noticed he didn’t have the usual Southern accent of Appaloosa Plains. He spoke using a very informal, flowing English.

“Why, no I don’t. Is there a problem?”

“Come inside and I’ll give you some clothes. Wouldn’t want to ruin that brand name fabric you’ve got going on there.”

Claire walked around in her new change of clothes. The fabric was itching against her delicate skin, and exposed a smell of wet grass and dirt.

“Okay, so are you ready to start your day?” Cole asked, taking a deep breath.

“I was born ready.”

AUTHOR’S NOTES

– YAY! Together, with my updates and your support we reached over 2,000 views! This is so exciting, I’m so grateful to have all you readers comment and give me your feedback! Thank you!

– Also thought I’d mention that slowly, I’ll have to pick up the pace with Claire’s life! I was so interested when playing her everyday life, I forgot the whole point of this! Need to bring in the next generation some day no!? 🙂

35 comments

  1. Wahoo! 2000! Congrats erm… I don’t mean to be nosy, but is there something that I could call you? Because your username is “middletonlegacy”, unless you want to be referred to as middletonlegacy… Anyways!

    Good bye and good riddance Trevor! Now Claire can actually do something for herself! And she has a new job! Prove it to Cole that you can do it!

    Oh, and about the speeding up thing? Granted, you do eventually want to bring in gen 2, but I think you should go at your own pace. I’ve read blogs where each gen is 15-20 chapters, and I’ve also read blogs where they don’t really calculate how many chapters each gen is, and one gen happens to be five or six chapters… Each is different. But no matter what direction you take, I’m still going to be here, ready to read each chapter.

    -Nate

    1. Let’s call her Middy. Or Mitty. Because. It’s cute.

      1. Aw! That actually is cute 🙂 THough it really has no resemblance to my real name, I like it hehe

    2. Aw Nate! Your messages always touch me :’)
      I love all your support, and I’m so happy to have a dedicated reader like you. I’m definitely not calculating the amounts of chapters per generation… And worse for worse, it’ll be longer and more detailed but instead of 10 generations it can be 5? Guess I’ll have to see that later.
      And yes indeed, good bye Trevor!

      You’re not being nosy whatsoever! My name’s Cindy, Cin for short! 🙂

  2. Yay great chapter! Great job on getting 2,000 views! 🙂

  3. CONGRATS ON 2000!

    *ahem*

    Anyways. Great chapter!

  4. Congrats on 200, you really deserve it!
    No really, I’m having so much fun readong your chapters. I loved especially how Claire handled her now-ex and new boss, she’s so determined to build a life by herself! ^^ I think I love Cole more than Trevor, a lot more actually. Trevor was such an idiot, thinking he could tell her what to do because of her appearance. Cole’s quite rude too, but in a much more likable way.
    And I just really like the name Cole. =3
    Gee, that was a long post… Oh well ^^

    1. I’m glad you’re already liking Cole! And yes, Claire is one determined Sim! I’m having so much fun playing her, and including the rest of the town into my story.
      Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  5. I really like your writing style. And I agree with Nate; you can make your legacy as long and detailed as you wish. I think it really works for you and Claire! Claire seems to have a lot to tell.

    That said, I’m glad she left Trevor. And I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    1. Thanks for commenting! I’m so excited about Claire, and I love playing her and telling her life story 🙂

  6. Cute chapter! I feel Claire is going to find romance with Cole. Can’t wait to see beautiful children x

    (Btw, what’s with the vampire bite on Cole’s neck…? Is that accidental or intentional?)

    1. That’s a vampire bite!? Ugh I had no idea -.- I just got it on him as a tattoo LOL … You’re not the only one getting confused so I think I’ll just remove it in my next update…

      I love you’re thinking.. already planning for babies huh? 😉

  7. Oooh nice chapter. I can tell that Cole is a vampire and I think that she am fall in love with him, or he will bite her. I laughed when I read the part that you wrote about “No wonder news travels fast” because pretty much everyone in a country area, from what I know, call people about any news and then the whole town knows.

    Great chapter, grats on 2000, and I can’t wait for more!

    1. Actually Cole is fully human! I don’t even have the nightlife expansion, so even if I wanted a vampire, it wouldn’t be possible hehe

      1. If you have supernatural, then you’ll have vampires even if you didn’t have late night. I have both, I can’t play without vampires hehe

      2. Aw, you got the supernatural!? To be honest, the only expansion I have is Pets! Hehe.. I’m keeping myself quiet entertained with that for now 🙂

      3. Really?! But he has that marking on his neck. That’s weird if you say he’s not a vampire.

      4. I know! That was a mistake on my part. I had downloaded an arm tattoo (which is also on him) and it had came with a neck tattoo, which I decided to add. I had no idea it chained back to vampires! I took it out for the next posts to avoid the confusion 🙂 Thanks for mentioning it though!

  8. Great chapter! Congrats for the 2000 hits…you deserve them! Trevor is a total douchebag. Claire deserves way better than him, and she was smart to leave that unpleasant relationship. I hope Claire can prove to everyone that she can do her job right! I like Cole…for now, but then again, I don’t know much about him.

    Can’t wait to see what happens next! 😀

  9. I really like the way you write. :] It flows really well. Cole looks like one sexy man, I can’t wait to learn more about him. I am sad Trevor turned out to be a jerkoff but at least she picked up on the cues and got herself out of the situation.

  10. That was a bit of a surprise.

  11. I’m glad that she left Trevor. He’s a big bottle of jerk sauce LOL

  12. Yay, congrats on 2,000 views!! That’s amazing, but then so is your legacy. 😛

    As for picking up the pace, I personally don’t mind if you do or don’t. It’s interesting either way and at least Claire’s life is moving somewhere in each chapter, not just staying the same. However, I can’t say I’m not excited to see how her kids will turn out. 🙂

    Speaking of which, Cole and Claire!! ❤ Two of my favourite names haha. I'm really rooting for them but I understand it will take time. I'm glad she ditched Trevor—she strong and she doesn't need somebody like him holding her back.

    Hope to see another chapter soon! 😀

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! The way Claire acted towards Trevor I think can be an example to many people! To not let others stand in your way of achieving your goals.

  13. Hey! Your legacy was a nice read and I was wondering it you will check mine out? I am just starting my first one so its still a little awkward for me. I would love if you can tell me what I can improve and all.

    1. I love to have new readers! I’ll be more than happy to check out your legacy! 🙂

  14. Get outta there Trevor! Cole’s on the way! Actually… I think Claire is better off on her own! She’s doing pretty good for someone who was so used to depend on others. But then again, I know she needs someone to bring on the next generation! I don`t know who it’ll be.

  15. Well, this is an interesting turn of events! I expected Trevor to be a predator, but he turned out to be a snob instead. Claire seems to be making good decisions.

  16. I’m so happy that she and Trevor didn’t work out because something about him wasn’t right and I hope she and Cole will be together 🙂 And Congrats on the 2.000 views 😀

    1. Thanks so much! 🙂

  17. Wow! 2000 hits! Well done!!!! 😀 I love Claire, did I ever mention that? She acts usually like an overgrown (maybe a slightly spoiled) child but she’s actually really smart! I loved the argument between Cole and her. She completely won. By the way – is Cole a vampire? He doesn’t look like one but he has a black tattoo on his neck which looks like the vampire one. I’m glad she dumped Trevor he was creepy… I mean you said he was way older than her and treated her like a doll. Also trying to get her to move in with her after only a month of dating, slightly wei- ok, maybe I shouldn’t talk about that what with my legacy… 🙂 I love Cole. I have to say that Claire was a bit stupid turning up to work like that in a dress and heels… I think they’d makexan adorable couple :). Great chapter 🙂

  18. Goodbye Trevor and hellooo Cole 😉 Something tells me that Claire is going to find her new job pretty tough going, but she’s a tough cookie!

  19. Ooolala…Cole….he is ruggedly handsome…
    I knew Trevor would get the boot after an introduction with Cole. :3
    But why didnt he want her working there? Is there some kind of tension with Cole and Trevor? Hmmm…
    Anyways, Claire can finally show us what she has got! Put some hard work into working hard! Go Claire!

Leave a Reply

