1.4 Introductions

Claire had grown up in a rich and lavish environment. With cooks cooking for her, maids cleaning, and gardeners gardening, she never did anything herself.

She had crossed Rosy once more and the two talked for hours. Rosy told her about all the cozy spots in Appaloosa Plains. Going from the pier at the beach, and then onto the large equestrians covering thousands of acres.

Claire didn’t reveal too much about her past life, and never did she say why she was here in the first place. Instead of persisting, Rosy invited Claire over for the two to chat over coffee.

“Did you meet Martin yet?” Rosy had asked as she spoke about all the gossip this town could hold.

“No in fact I haven’t. I have not introduced myself to many people. Though I have met one man, I believe he introduced himself as Chuck.”

“Ah Chuck! Girl, he’s probably the nicest man in this whole town! He’s probably the best fishermen you’re ever going to meet!”

“I suppose that is what he does for a living?” Claire asked with curiosity.

“Oh no! That’s just a passion of his! He works down at the local grocery store as a butcher. You usually find him in the back store. Speaking of jobs, you find one yet?”

“To tell you the truth Rosy, I did try. I looked around but the results are quiet deceiving. I don’t know what to do anymore.”

“I’ve got the perfect suggestion for you, gal. They’re in need of people at this old ranch a couple miles from the village. You can always get a couple dollars there.”

“Sure, I suppose I can pass by and take a look.”

~~~

As much as Claire tried, she failed at living and independent life. Her only source of food was gardening and because she was incapable of growing the plants, she never gained any fruits or vegetables. Instead, she decided to go to the library to find books on gardening.

Picking out a book, she sat down and read peacefully. She had lost track of time and when she stood to get up, a broad-shouldered man stood in front of her. Smiling, he said “You have magnificent earrings.”

Speechless, Claire nodded and smiled at the man. She was surprise to hear that he had no accent. After spending so much time around southern habitants, she had forgotten what it was like to speak regular English.

Claire broke the silence with her British accent, “Pardon me, I know it isn’t any of my business, but I was wondering where are from?”

“From the city of Bridgeport; the city that never sleeps. I’d like to introduce myself, my name is Trevor.”

“I’m Claire.”

“I’d love to stay and talk to you, but I have somewhere I need to be. If it’s okay with you, I’d like to see you sometime soon?” Trevor asked, as they exchanged their phone numbers.

~~~

 “You look amazing! Stop worrying!” Rosy shouted to Claire as she finished her last touch ups. She was still young and had never done serious dating, but now here she was going on a date with an older man she barely knew.

A honk at the front door startled the two women. Claire waved goodbye to Rosy and stepped inside Chuck’s large red pick-up truck.

“Thank you so much for agreeing to bring me!” Claire said as she sat next to Chuck.

“Aren’t you all dolled up!”

~~~

 “So you’re telling me you’re new to this town?” Trevor asked as he ate threw his dessert. He had picked out a fabulous restaurant, completely out of town. It was nice to finally be surrounded by a familiar environment Claire was usually living in.

“I swear I am! I don’t even know my way around. How about you, what can possibly drive you to this tiny part of the world?”

“Believe it or not, but I’m here for a business deal.”

Getting up, Trevor paid the waitress the bill for two, and gave her a generous tip. Thank God he paid that; I couldn’t even afford the dessert.

Trevor drove into the night and brought the two at a small public park. Stepping outside onto the freshly cut grass, he guided Claire through the darkness. Knowing little about this man, she was nervous as they both sat across a wooden bench. Both sitting silently, they observed the starlit sky.

Every once in a while, someone would point at the starts and comment on it’s history or background. Trevor, making the first move, took Claire in his arms to cuddle her. As she lay her head against his chest, he started kissing the top of her head, and then her cheek. She looked up at him, his face illuminated by the moon’s light and the stars’ sparkle. He leaned in closer, and he was the one who first put his lips upon hers.

Reflexively, she fell into his embrace and kissed him back. This hadn’t been what she had expected her first kiss to be. She answered to his movements rather mechanically instead of emotionally, unsure of how to continue with their encounter. The feel of his tongue upon hers sent her body tingling. What the bloody hell am I doing? On our first date? 

Embarrassed yet anxious, she gave into her first kiss.

AUTHOR’S NOTES :

– The next update will hopefully be by the end of next week!

– I’d like to have your opinions about the dialogue? I’m trying as best I can to portray the different accents (Southern and British) but I’m wondering if it gets confusing?

– Some bad news however, is that summer is over and school is back! I’ll try to update as regularly as time allows me to. This is my last high school years, therefore it should be a hectic and busy time of my life. I’ll try as best I could to play and write up chapters! All in the same time as keeping up to date with all you other writers!

– I’d also want to take a quick second to thank ALL of you who have been reading and commenting so far. I can’t believe I’ve already reached passed 1,400 views in only just a few chapters! I’m so excited about this legacy, so thank you all!

39 comments

  1. I really enjoyed this chapter. I noticed in your authors comments that you wrote about the different accents, but personally, I just read it with the little voice in my head.

    I know how you feel about it being the last year of high school, I am in your same position.

    Grats in reaching 1,400. I wish I had that many views.

    1. Awh okay so if accents leads to little voices then that’s a good sign 🙂

      Conrats on being in Senior Year as well! Looks like we’ll both be extremely busy :p

  2. Well done with this chapter … I really felt like I was intruding on their first date and you portrayed Claires emotions very well.

    1. Not intruding.. Simply eavesdropping 😉

  3. This was a great chapter!

    🙂

    I love how you made the effort to have the different accents and it’s works really well!

    🙂

    Congrats on the 1,400 views!

  4. Great update I can’t wait for the next! 😀

  5. Hello, I just found this blog and I’ve the chapters that are here so far and i love it 😀 I think you should keep the accents, they really help make the story unique and authentic, wish i had thought to do accents in my story. Oh well. I look forward to reading the next chapter and many more after that 🙂

    ~ Minty

    1. Aw I’m glad you’re enjoying it so far! You know it’s never too late if youant to add touched to your story 🙂 I’ll definetely check out and follow your blog sometime Monday when I go on with my PC !

  6. MY RED LIGHT IS GOING OFF.
    BEEP BEEP BEEP.

    Claire, you said he is too old for you! Bad Claire!

  7. Hm…I have to agree with MusczNotes…something about Trevor seems a little suspicious to me.

    I think you did fine with the dialogue! 🙂

    1. Hmm .. Maybe you guys are hinting right.. Or not ? 😉

      Thank you ! 🙂

  8. I totally understand the high school thing. In the same boat myself, actually. Something about Trevor feels a bit off-like he’s trying to push things without discussing them first. He only has one thing on his beautiful (haha he is SO gorgeous) mind.

    1. Looks like we’re going to be a few simmers busy with school!
      Glad you like Trevor

  9. I agree with the consensus. That’s awfully forward for a first date. She hasn’t learned much about him, and she’s clearly very innocent and out of place!

    I think you’re doing fine with the accents, and I think it’s a good thing to add polish to the story. It’s nice the everyone doesn’t talk the same. I don’t really know the written cues for British accent, so I added one in my head when you mentioned it specifically.

    1. BTW: Where did you promote this blog to get so many views? We simbloggers are always hungry for readers….

      1. To be honest I try to read other people’s stories as much as I can ! I read all their new updates and leave thoughtful comments. I don’t necessarily use this method, but some people use the official Sims 3 site to promote and add threads. Hope I can help ! 🙂

  10. Great chapter!

    I think Claire is too innocent and vulnerable when it comes to her date with Trevor. She does not know much about him, yet she’s willing to trust him! He seems old for her, and a bit suspicious.
    The accents are a great, personalized touch to every chapter and I think you’re doing a great job portraying them!

    Can’t wait to see what happens next! 😀

  11. I had liked Trevor until I read all the previous comments, and then I realized that there’s something fishy going on. Guess we’ll find out later?

    DON’T take out the accents and dialogue’s! I think it’s an original touch added to the story and it makes everything so much cuter !!!! I like your version of Appaloosa Plains 🙂

    Congrats on all the readers ! :O

  12. This is great and I think it’s cute they went all smoochy on their first date 😉 Oh Claire.

  13. Once again, I love it! Claire is so cute with Trevor, but I like that things aren’t going perfectly for her.

    Even before I read your author’s note I was going to comment on how great your dialogue is, haha. I don’t think it gets confusing. And you don’t necessarily have to write distinct accents into their words—the way you’re doing it now, just by changing the way they speak and the different vocabulary they use (Rosy and Chuck are more informal, etc.) works just perfectly! So I would say just keep it up. 🙂

    1. Yay! I’m glad you like it and with everyone’s kind words I’ll definitely be keeping this added touch to Appaloosa Plains 🙂

  14. Yo!!! I had meant to comment, but real life was being a biscuit muffin (that’s supposed to be an insult 😉 ) Anyways!

    I like Rosy and Chuck, they seem like really cool people! And I hope that Claire learns to be more independent, and finds something that she enjoys doing, as opposed to just doing what “should” be done. I (like alot of other commenters) am not too keen on Trevor… I really don’t like the guy, though I don’t know much about him. I do hope though that before Claire gets into a greater relationship with this guy, that she sort of learns independence, so that she isn’t leaning soley on her significant other, and has a mind of her own.

    I honestly love the way that you are portraying the accents, it makes the story more realistic for me, and gives your characters a deeper personality. Keep up the good work!

    Loved the chapter! More please (when you have the free time of course)

    -Nate

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words!!
      I love Rosy and Chuck as well, I just like the fact that it’s not only about the Middleton people, but also about the community they’re (or for now she) is living in.
      So far the accents seem to be interesting, but as the generations go I don’t know how I’ll be doing it. I’d like to introduce new cultures and accents, so I guess I’ll have to see when the time comes.
      You’re right! She definitely needs to find independence. Her whole life people were always there to do things for her. Things are about to change! 🙂
      Thanks again, Nate!

  15. A little too eager on their first date, he is 0.o I’m not sure wether to like him or not… Trevor seems to be more than he looks. =/

  16. Wow! 1,400 views… Lucky! I do the same thing with accents inside my head but I don’t write it very well (Sunset Vallet = posh English and Riverview = Cockney). I’ve got the same problem with school. 😦 There is something suspisious about Trevor… Maybe he’s working for parents or something.

    Great chapter 🙂

    1. Hmm I like your way of thinking! Thanks for the kinds words 🙂

  17. Nice chapter. I think you have the southern accent down but I wasn’t really getting the British feel in the other but other than Cockney I think its hard to write a british accent lol. I’m not so sure about Trevor. He’s cute but I’m not so sure that he’s not just a player.

    1. Yeah I guess the British accent is mostly in my head aha! Maybe it’s just more of a classy formal talk? Thank you for commenting!

  18. I’ve been meaning to read this but been busy with partying and putting my own story together. Nice chapter, Trevor is cute but I have a feeling that he’s up to something sneaky.. I got my eye on you Trevor!!

    I agree with JB, I can feel the southern vibe but not the British vibe. I once had a french vampire in Lex Legacy and I tried to stay true to his french accent. Now I have a french peashooter named Pepe in my side story LOL

    Last year in school huh, well keep those grades 😀 I tell my little cousin that all the time, it’s her last year too. I hope you have a fun school year, enjoy this last year and create fond memories with your peers. I enjoined mines 11 years ago but it feels like 60 years ago LOL.

    1. You don’t have to apologize, I understand that we’re all busy and have lives!
      I know I’m not perfecting any of the accents but I’m glad you guys are still able to enjoy them 🙂 I guess the accents and voices depends on how people think and what their imagination creates.
      Poor Trevor… Getting so much hat! Thanks for commenting 😀

  19. This Trevor does seem a bit off… One can only hope I’ve got the wrong impression. XD

    I think you shall keep the accents, they add a great touch to the story.

    1. Everyone’a doubting Trevor.. Poor guy! Haha.. And thanks for commenting, I’ll be continuing the accent as best as I can!

  20. Wow, fast moves there! xD Gettin’ all close and personal -giggles-

    I like the accents 🙂 Coming from somewhere that is borderline south…. (Northern part of West Virginia) I’ve heard loads of southern accents. xD I kept reading those in the accent of this one girl I know. -giggles-

    1. Glad you can take it more personal hehe! 😀

  21. Congratulations on 1400 views already! This means that you are doing an excellent job keep it up. Don’t worry about the accent thing, you’re doing great with that and I’d say that I’m a fair judge of southern accents considering I am southern, lol so it reads just fine and the British accent too!

    I can’t wait to find out more about this mysterious stranger from Bridgeport who has already seemed to have sweeped our founder off her feet.

    1. So here I am trying to do some Souther accent and sayings and we have a true one right here! Hehe.. Sorry if sometimes I say things completely false about their way of talking.. 🙂

  22. No need to apologize, you’re doing just fine! This is fiction after all so you are allowed to make some things up. 😉 The best writers are guilty of that and it makes their stories that much better. Honestly I’d say you have the southern accent down pretty good. If you happen to have any questions though, feel free to ask. There are different types of southern accents of course but I will answer any questions or concerns you have about the accent to the best of my ability 😀

    1. I’ll definitely keep that in mind, thanks so much! 🙂

  23. Ah! How sweet! Her first kiss..though Trevor doesn’t really sit right with me….hmmm….maybe because he is moving too fast? Or maybe it was his first comment to her…about her earrings…oh gosh what if he is a thief!?
    Lolz…Im getting carried away. XD A great chapter! Im happy that she and Rosy are speaking and getting to know each other better and even Chuck came through to drive her to Trevor. How nice!

    Your question about the dialogue and portraying different accents, I think your doing a wonderful job. You are always reminding us of it with a supporting sentence or word that reminds us that this person is southern and that Claire is british.

Leave a Reply

