1.3 Appaloosa Plains

The air was heavy and there was a thick layer of mist lurking above the grass. Claire let her suitcase fall onto the moist grass and walked along the large open field. To her, this was a completely different world. All she had on her was her suitcase filled with clothes and small essentials she had managed to pack. She had her cell phone placed in her pocket, and in her wallet she had a small amount of money she managed to bring from home.

She had a full day ahead of her, and she wasn’t about to waste it. With the little amount of money she had, she was able to gather up only the essentials. She bought a brand new single bed, accompanied with a plain white toilet. In addition, she was able to find herself a plain fridge and stove in order to cook her meals. Buying a stove; as if I’ve ever even prepared myself a meal… I wonder if this town has personal chefs? 

First things first, Claire decides to explore her new hometown. There weren’t many people in the streets seeing as it was still early in the morning; the sun only still rising.

After a short walk she found herself on a beach over-looking the bluest ocean she’d ever seen. She was startled when she heard a voice behind her, “This is the perfect time for fishin’ gal.”

“Pardon?” Claire couldn’t understand the man’s southern accent.

“You came here to fish am I right?”

“Oh, no. I’m just uh…”

“You’re new to the Plains aren’t ya?”

“Why, how would you know?” Claire asked, surprised.

“Lady, you’re accent is heavy enough for anyone to know you ain’t around here. Besides… It’s impossible to miss a new face in this tiny town. Where you stayin?”

“Well Sir, I just arrived and I’m currently residing on the dirt road, only five minutes from here.”

“Golly! There ain’t no home on that path?”

“Hopefully I’ll be able to change that quickly.”

~~~

 Claire kept walking, never getting tired of watching the new sceneries. Every person she crossed looked at her as if she came from a different world; which in some way it did feel that way.

She approached a young girl who was picking out apples in a public park.

“Pardon me madam, but does this town not have a grocery store?” Claire asked politely.

“Course we do! But I rather pick out fresh fruits. You ought to try some! Besides, the grocery here has prices way over my budget! Here, why don’t ya try one of my apples?”

The lady tossed her a bright red apple. Claire looked at it, but didn’t dare take a bite.

“Oh alright gal, I get it! You’re not from around here are ya?” Before Claire could even answer, she continued. “Just by looking at those pearl earrings you got, I bet you can go buy all the apples ya want!”

“Actually I am new to this town. I don’t have anything worth a fortune besides these pearl earrings.”

“What’s your story lady?”

“I’d rather not get into it, if you don’t mind.” Claire answered with a smile, and politely started walking away when the lady called out to her. “Listen gal I don’t know where you’re from or how you got here but if ever you need a helping hand, you just come find me!”

“Thank you, I will.”

“It’s none of my business, I know, but if what you’ve got on your back is all you’ve got, then you’d better get gardening! There are many ways you can get your food in a place like this.”

Claire’s stomach made a loud grumble, reminding her how hungry she was. “I’ll take note of that, thank you madam.”

“You can call me Rosy!” the lady yelled out with a broad smile, waving Claire goodbye.

It was just past noon and Claire was famished. She walked by one of the local restaurants but when she took a quick glance at the menu, she kept walking. To her, everything in this town was unusual. Why was everyone taking time to talk to her, trying to help her? Even the food was out of the ordinary. For goodness sake what’s a Chilli Mixed Corn Dog? Or Fried Onion Rings accompanied with a lemon Jelly? 

After hours of exploring the streets, Claire made her way back down the dirt road and onto her piece of land. She was truly starving.

“I see the house ain’t coming along too well!” startled, Claire turned around to see the man who was fishing earlier this morning.

He continued, “I didn’t get to introduce myself ma’am. The name’s Chuck, and I live just a couple of fields down the valley.”

“Sir, with all due respect I’d rather you not visit my property unexpectedly.”

“Whoa there lady! I just came here because I got ya your dinner; just a way of welcoming you to the neighborhood.”

“Thank you, I truly appreciate it, but I don’t need –“ Claire was cut off as the old man handed her a large fish wrapped in tinfoil.

“Ma’am you just take it, it’ll make me more than happy!” Chuck said with a polite smile and started walking back towards his large pick-up truck. As he got back into his car, Claire yelled out, “For proper introductions, my name is Claire!”

~~~

Okay, so maybe I will have to do this their way. Claire thought to herself as she bit through the apple and gathered whatever seeds it contained. She went to a moist green patch of grass and dug out a hole for her seeds, hoping to get results soon.

How can a lady with my prestigious and wealthy background get herself to this point?

It was only when the sun began to set that Claire realized what she had gotten herself into. She had entered a new world and was now left completely by herself.

~~~

AUTHOR’S NOTE

– Just thought I’d mention that there has been an update in the *Family Home* page! It’s not much, but for the founder, it’s a start!

– Also…Claire was just going through another regular day, and when I made her have cereal for breakfast … She found herself her own creative seat! Weird though because she does have a chair and table? Thought I’d share this with you hehe…

37 comments

  1. They all sound like southern country folk in your version of app plains. I hope she does well there. Cute chapter.

    1. Hehe, yes I tried giving it a bit of a trademark… Though I really have no clue about anything when it comes to the Southern accents, so bare with me! 🙂 Thank you!

  2. Oh how sweet, everyone is being so nice to her! I kind of get how Claire feels though, to come from a private neighbouhood to a town where everyone knows everyone must be such a shock.

    *waves* I’m sure you’ll do just fine Claire! You were brave enough to leave so you know you can get through the scary times! And don’t you let anyone tell you that the toilet is not proper seating! 😉

    1. LOL I just found that scenario too funny to keep to myself!
      It definitely is a different neighborhood and atmosphere for Claire, but when you think about it, it’s better! People are so nice and welcoming, you can’t complain..
      Oh and Claire waves back! 🙂

  3. Everyone there is so cute and nice. But coming from the big city, it must be pretty scary. Especially because she’s used to locking her front door at night (not that she has one, but I’m sure you get the analogy) . I forgot how pretty it is in Appaloosa Plains.

    Great chapter.

    1. I’m hoping to ge her that front door soon enough 😉
      And it’ my first time ever playing in Appaloosa Plains, let alone have a legacy there! I’m enjoying it very much though.

  4. Oh wow, that guy Chuck is creepy as heck. Great chapter. I hope we ge to see more nneighbours as they should a really help her. Shes not even form around there and already has 2 strangers helping,

    1. I’m trying to include as many neighbors as I could. It’ll give a chance for Claire to have different relationships. Besides, I can’t write chapter after chapter with only one character!?

  5. I love how you introduced Appaloosa. 😀 They sound so welcoming and warm, I hope she can loosen up and find herself at home in this new town.

  6. Nothing wrong with a seat like that, Claire! xD It is kinda funny that she’d choose that over a normal chair and table, though. The people are so nice to her, if they’re all like that I’m sure Claire will have no trouble settling in. =)

  7. Aw, I love your depiction of Appaloosa Plains; it sounds a lot like where I live…well, what everyone thinks of where I live, that is. Claire definitely seems to be having a hard time finding her place, though…she must have been really miserable at home to have uprooted herself like that.

    1. It’s definitely difficult for her to fit in, but don’t forget this is only her beginnings! 🙂
      And if you don’t mind me asking, where do you live!?

      1. Hahaha, I live in Georgia, near Atlanta, where everyone is supposed to be real friendly and say “ya’ll” all the time. 😉

      2. Aw what a cute environment 🙂

  8. thenay83 · · Reply

    LOL, I guess the toilet was more comfortable. Wow everyone is so nice there, it reminds me of my home state.

    1. Awh, where are you from? 🙂

      1. Kansas… don’t laugh hahaha

      2. No! Why would I laugh!? I’d definitely want to visit that part of the world someday… Must be the total opposite from Canada ! :O

  9. This is the cutest versio of Appaloosa Plains I’ve ever seen! It makes me want to move there ^^ Everyone is so nice and it all seems so cozy… Hopefully Claire doesn’t end up with their accent and she keeps her British authenticity. Ahaha!

  10. Great chapter!

    Every one in Appaloosa Plains seems so nice and genuinely caring towards Claire. Even though she’s new, I think she will fit just right in!

    Can’t wait for the next update! 😀

  11. I like it! 🙂 It’s a very good start!
    Everyone there seems so nice. She’ll make friends really soon! 😀

  12. I wish everyone in my hometown was as nice as this. People here are such individuals – they do not really interact with people unless they know them. It’s sorta sad when you walk down the street and almost everyone has their head down.

    Looks like she’ got some people who are willing to help her though, that’s always good news!

    1. I’m glad you’re liking my version of Appaloosa Plains! 🙂 I understand what you mean though about people walking by each other with their head down. I guess it’s just like that in bigger cities? If you don’t mind me asking, where are you from? 🙂

  13. Love it! I love how dramatic legacies have to be so creative, mine is just Meet, Get a husband, Have kids, Make fun of the family which I guess is quite fun! XD I just love your founder, she is super pretty! 😀

    1. That’s what’s so fun about all these legacies and stories; they’re all different and have their own style! Thank you for commenting 🙂

  14. Another great chapter! I really love the way you’re showing every bit of Claire’s struggle as a founder—finding food, meeting the townspeople, etc.. It’s something a lot of legacy writers (including myself :P) don’t manage to convey with a more conversational/observational tone. So kudos to you! This is one of my favourite legacies right now, and I’m excited to keep on reading. 😀

    1. Awh! That’s so nice of you! I really try to get Claire’s feelings and thoughts across to the readers, but I don’t want to bore you either! Still trying to find my balance 🙂

      1. No problem! There’s nothing boring about it. Keep doing what you’re doing—it’s working for you, I think. 🙂

  15. Claire is lucky that she’s surrounded by neighbours who are genuinely trying to help her … let’s hope things go well for her 🙂

  16. Hi, Just read your latest chapter and enjoyed it very much. Raphael (formerly Faye’s Sim) and his wife Hailey Kite (nee Shepherd) would like to welcome Claire to Appaloosa Plains. I’m doing the ‘careeracy challenge’ with them them. They are both doctors at the hospital.

    Silver

    1. Aw! It’s so nice to see all the sims connect together 🙂

  17. Wow amazing! Can’t wait for next chapter!

  18. You’re making the town come to life. Very nice!

  19. I like how the town is coming to life ^^ you gave people personalities and I think it’s neat.

    I love how Claire is just kinda like “Hello people wtf.”
    xD

    1. LOL definitely her initial reaction 😉

  20. Lol, I love how… well maybe not “freaked out” but weirded out she was by such a different kind of community. Hopefully she gets used to that sort of thing soon! I loved the interactions with Rosy and Chuck. And LOL at the toilet! Why?! You have a chair, girl! -laughs-

  21. Aww, I love how cautious she is being whilst she has stepped into a community that is all helping and kind and friendly towards on another. It shows just how she grew up, her mannerisms. Great chapter! I loved that she was getting around town trying to get a feel of life here. It is so different than what she is used to…I wonder what made her pick Appaloosa Plains and not some fancy apartment out in SimCity that she could pay for using the money her parents are giving her for ‘school’.

Leave a Reply

