1. In my Past

For me, it was all about personality, relationships and life moments. But it wasn’t exactly the same for them. Being raised a single daughter in a rich and powerful family meant I didn’t live in a stable environment. It all started eighteen years ago, on March 18th. The day I was born.

I can’t remember any of my early, baby days. My earliest memory starts when I was about 3 years of age. I was sitting in a large empty living room. With my legs crossed, I sat on the dark wooden floors. Holding my favourite stuffed animal tightly in my arms, my delicate blonde hair perfectly brushed and my clothes freshly washed and ironed. A picture too perfect for a 3 year old toddler.

I sat their quietly as large men were moving carton boxes out of the house and into large white box trucks. Today, I know that that scene was only the first of many more to come. All the boxes were packed and it was at that moment I felt a large firm hand pull me by the arm. It was my father dragging me out of the house and telling me to hurry. Barely able to walk, my white ballerina shoes were dragged along the shiny floors as my dad pulled my arm. I couldn’t understand what was going on. As I got pulled outside the front door, I looked back and saw my stuffed animal, laying lifeless on the living room floor. I cried silently and tried to pull out of my father’s firm hold, but it was too late. The next thing I knew I sat in the backseat of our expensive car and my mother was directing our chauffer to our next destination. My very first memory; It was a chaotic scene that left me marked for life.

The rest of my early childhood days remain a blur to me. I remember going to PreSchool and kindergarten at a private learning institution. However, our family kept moving from city to city, therefore obliging me to having a private, homeschooled tutor. I was only 6 at the time and was unaware of why we kept moving.

As the years passed, nothing really changed. My father, coming from British descent, was barely ever home because he worked such long hours. My mom, who was unemployed, still seemed to always be out. I got to learn that my parents were very well-known within the community and they had to work hard to keep their high-placed title.

As I grew older I started to understand what my life really was. My father was always out. Either he was attending important board meetings, or too busy closing money-making business deals. Often, he was gone for days or even weeks making business trips across the country; across the globe. The rare times he was home, he simply locked himself in his private office, his eyes glued to his computer.

Surprisingly, my mother was unemployed. Ironically however, she still never made time to be home. She took part in many volunteering projects and organizations. Many times she was the one who sponsored the advertisements and at least once a month she donated a large check of money to an association. Of course, this was all another way of publicizing the family’s name and reputation.

It’s sad to say I never attended high school. I was still home schooled along my teenage years and my graduation ceremony consisted of getting handed a diploma from the head office of my tutoring company. Everyday was the same, yet compared to others, things were so different.

I’m exactly seventeen and 10 months. In seventeen years, I’ve lived in a total of twenty-four different cities. Our home changed. Going from large houses with white pillars to expensive penthouses viewing the city, everything was always temporary. I never had real friends either. I tried getting close to people, but once I was accepted into the right crowds, we had to move once again.

Now, I spend most of my time at home, in my room. My tutor, came every morning and left right after lunch. The gardener would come once a week, and the maid every second day. We had our usual handyman that came the second we called and then we had Jacques. Jacques was the family’s main chauffer. He emigrated from France some years ago and has been working for my family ever since, slowly picking up our heavy British accent. He was the only permanent thing that hadn’t changed along the years.

~ ~ ~

Besides that, I was almost always home alone.

I lay in my bed, and instead of reading the book given by my tutor, I daydreamed about the future. The future that was so close. In two more months I would finally be eighteen.

~ ~ ~

As I celebrated my birthday and bloomed into a healthy young adult, I could finally realize, that after all these years, this would be the day my life finally changed.

54 comments

  1. Great start Cin!

    I really like the flashbacks of her childhood and of her parents. It makes us understand Claire’s personality and background a lot more! I’m excited to see what Claire will do with her life without her parents! 😀

    1. Thank you so much for your support! I’m so excited to finally be back into this kind of world, and I can’t wait to read everyone else’s stories and legacies too.

  2. I think that this is a really great start to your legacy, and a very strong one. Already Claire’s background is starting to show through, as well as her background and why she is the way she is. You have a very pronounced voice as a writer as well.

    And thank you for leaving me a comment on my blog, I always enjoy finding more legacies to lurk and enjoy 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! I love writing and reading and with my legacy and everyone elses, I just get to explore more of my pass time! 🙂 I’ll add you to my blogroll!

  3. Great start, I’m really looking forward to where you take this. Such a shame that her parents wer always busy but she looks to have turned into a lovely adult 🙂

    1. Yes, Claire seems to be living the typical life of those rich families. Full of money, but left with barely any love. Thanks for your feedback! 🙂

  4. I loooove the idea of the flash backs! It makes it much more personal! Can’t wait for the next chapter!

    1. Thank you! I was hoping to give hints as to why Claire is going to be the way she is. The next chapter she should be going on in her life alone…

  5. Carmen Toza · · Reply

    I can’t wait to see where Claire will be in the near future!!! It’s amazing that she stays home regardless of the fact that her parents are never home. Most teenagers would use that as an opportunity haha! Awesome start 🙂

    http://themasonfamilylegacy.blogspot.ca/

    1. I like your thinking! I’ll add you to my blogroll! 🙂

  6. Wonderful start Cin! I love that you took the time to explain her childhood; which just seems so traumatizing. I can see her having all sorts of adjustment problems socially because of her family’s constant move and her being like a recluse. It intrigues me why her folks had to move so much when they were so rich…were they in some kind of trouble? money trouble? law trouble? Hmm…great suspense about her family background. You gave much but left much outta the light. I look forward to reading more about Claire and what her future will turn out like and how this all affects her!
    xoDusty

    1. Dusty! So happy to have your feedback! I tried to give little hints about Claire’s past and be able to show what her background life was like. There should be more details about her parents along the next chapters. I don’t want to just give out a bunch of information all at once! 😉

      1. Always best to leave us wanting more eh? XD Its a perfect introduction, great job! ^^

  7. Ah, I liked the beginning of this a lot! :] Claire is beautiful and I relate with her moving around all the time. My childhood was spent very much the same way. I wonder if she is going to be shy and socially awkward because of it. That would be adorable.

    Thank you for commenting on my blog and for taking the time to read it. I will certainly take the time out to follow yours.

    1. Her personality will keep being portrayed as the next chapters come! Thank you for your support 🙂

  8. Thanks for dropping a comment on mine so I could find this, I really loved this start. Claire is very interesting, I like her background though I feel bad for her. I cannot wait to see what she does to shape her future and how her parents react, and wah! Everything. 😀 Looking forward for more ^__^

    1. Thank you for commenting! I’m just as excited to show everyone more about Claire’s personality

      1. You’ve really made a fascinating founder. Do you have a forum thread? I like to bookmark those when I can ^__^

      2. Unfortunately I’m not very connected when it comes to the Sims 3 official site nor to their forums… But I might start looking into it and exploring the forums. I’ll let you know if I get involved! 🙂

      3. It’s fine, I know several like that, I just thought I’d ask to make sure to know whether to bookmark the wordpress site or something else. Bookmarking your wordpress now. ^_^ Looking forward to reading more 😀

  9. I love it! Great start. Not many legacies start out with a description of the heir’d childhood, but you integrated it exceptionally well. I will definitely be adding this to my blog roll. Can’t wait for more!

    1. I wanted to give a little background about Claire, and there is only going to be more and more hints in the next chapters! Thanks, and I’ll add you to my links as well! 🙂

  10. Cin’s back!! So excited about this brand new legacy of yours. It was a good idea to show a glimpse of Claire’s past.

    I wonder what it is that her parents are involved in, or if they just keep moving because of Claire’s father’s job?
    Can’t wait to see how she’ll turn out to be once she’s on her own!

    1. I’m back at full speed! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  11. I love your start! Claire’s going to have a lot of past to get over. She’s hardly had a chance to see a functioning relationship, and it seems like she may have trouble adjusting to life after she moves out. I hope things get better for her. (:

    1. Great thinking! Your background life and past environment can have a HUGE effect on your personal life… Even your love life!

  12. Hey! I just read it, and you have a new follower! She’s had an interesting past, and I’m curious as to why her father was in such a hurry. Unless it was nothing, and he was just an impatient father. I also enjoyed how the pictures in her backstory were dull, yet had a “main section” where it was colorful.

    Can’t wait for more! 🙂

    1. More about her past will be getting revealed as the chapters go by!
      I’m not the best at photo-editing… I’m actually quiet bad and impatient ha ha! I’m glad you liked them and noticed the effects! Thanks for your feedback. 🙂

  13. Great start! Everyone else mentioned the things that I was thing so yeah! I’ll be reading the following chapters!

    1. Thank you for rrading and following! I love having new readers! 🙂

  14. This is good. I added you to my Great Reads!!! page on my blog. If you want you can add me too.

    1. I’ll definitely add you the second I log on with my PC ! Thanks for adding me, I appreciate the support 🙂

      1. Its not a problem I also appreciate the support since this is my first time blogging anything. Every time I log in and see that I have had more hots on my blog I’m like Yea!!. lol

      2. Yup, I know that feeling hehe 😉

  15. You definitely have another follower here ^^ Amazing start, you portrayed Claire’s past so well! I really felt for her reading how she never got to develop any friendships. I wonder why her parents keep moving?
    Congrats on a job well done, I’m very eager to read more!

    1. Thank you for your kind words! I’m so glad to have another reader on board! You won’t be dissapointed 🙂

  16. Hi. I think this is off to a good start. I like her already. Nice job on your screenies too.

    1. I’m glad you’re enjoying Claire and her newest environment as much as I do! 🙂

  17. I absolutely adore your writing! Most of the time, something just irks me about first-person legacies, but I’ve gotta say I love this one. The prose is simple and to-the-point, but engaging in its own way.
    (Take it from me, writing in first-person perspective, whether it be in a book or a legacy, is NOT easy)
    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    1. I actually had a bit of a dilemma when it came to which point of view I wanted to write in. After my first chapter, in first person, I decided to change in into third person! I find it’ll be easier to get everyone’s point of views and feeling felt across to the readers! I’m glad you noticed such a small detail 🙂

  18. thenay83 · · Reply

    I liked how you shown her childhood and past. Now we’ll have a better understanding of her in future chapters. Good work by the way and she’s very pretty.

    1. Looks like my goal was achieved then! Hehe, thank you for commenting 🙂

  19. This is beautiful! A great start to the legacy. 🙂 I have to say I usually don’t go for legacies with fully fleshed out narration (I guess I’m lazy and just like to read the fast-paced banter, haha) but this one has surprised me!! I popped over just to have a look and ended up glued to the whole chapter. So well done, and I’m looking forward to reading more! 😀

    Also, the stuffed animal being left behind gave me flashbacks to The Pursuit of Happyness and that made me really sad. 😛

    1. Aw yay! I’m happy you were able to enjoy a type of narrative like this as much as the other types you prefer.
      And you’re right! That moment when the little boy drops his superhero toy 😥 Love that movie…

  20. It’ll be interesting to see if her sparse social life will affect her anyhow. Good start!

  21. Ooh I love the start! 😀 I can’t wait to read more!

  22. I’m finally here! Wow, strong start. I if Claire’s isolated upbringing will get her in trouble in the future. I imagine she’s probaby going to be quite naive!

    *Also, when you say ‘British’ accent, do you mean an English accent? ‘Cause Britain is like, 4 countries. Haha, sorry, had to make the distinction, being English and all =)

    1. To be honest I don’t reallt know what kind of accent I’m putting out right now.. I just wanted something that made her sound more elegant with rich vocabulary words !

  23. *I wonder

  24. This is a fantastic start to what I’m sure will be a wonderful legacy. I’m going to go read the rest of the chapters now, but did want to comment what I great job you did on the opening 🙂

    1. Thank you, I love having new readers! 😀

  25. meginthebox · · Reply

    I LOVE how the subject of each screenshot was brighter. That was so creative. The first paragraph immediately made me focus; it’s written so nicely! I’m glad you directed me to this because I can already tell I’m really going to like it. I’ll catch up on this as soon as I can (Thank God I’m not TOO far behind) Claire seems like she’ll make a good founder, so now I have to see what problems she’ll face!

    1. Yay! A new reader, I’m so happy! I’m glad you’re liking what you’ve read so far. My picture edits are very basic, but I try my best to make them add suspense to the story. Thanks for reading and commenting. Also thought I’d mention that you’ve got yourself a new follower 🙂

  26. I’m sorry this took me so long to get to. I’m really terrible with keeping up with this kind of thing. I just wanted to say this was a great start and I’m looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

